World’s Best Banks Awards Ceremony 2012


Global Finance held its annual Best Banks awards ceremony in Tokyo in October. The event took place during the annual meetings of the IMF and World Bank.

Financial leaders from around the world were present to accept their awards and honor other award recipients. For a full list of award winners, go to the best banks feature from October .


600 08_Best_banks_awards_ceremony_01

1 Amando Tetangco Jr (R), governor, Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas, and Joseph Giarraputo (L), publisher of Global Finance

2 Harry Supoyo, president director, Mandiri Sekuritas

3 Diana Layfield, CEO Africa, Standard Chartered

4 Koichiro Oshima, head of project finance, Mitsubishi UFJ Financial

5 Jan Remie, general manager, country representative Japan, Rabobank

6 Mohamed Isa Al Mutaweh, CEO (Bahrain), Al Baraka

7 Tirad Mahmoud, CEO, Abu Dhabi Islamic Bank

8 Albert Essien, deputy group CEO, Ecobank

600 08_Best_banks_awards_ceremony_02_01
600 08_Best_banks_awards_ceremony_02_02

9 Simon Weeks, MD, head of sales, Scotiabank

10 David Hatton, group head financial institutions, Ahli United Bank

11 Isam Al-Sager, deputy group CEO, NBK

12 Mohammad Kamran Wajid, CEO, Emirates NBD Capital

13 Chanda Kochhar, MD & CEO, ICICI

14 Roberto Zamora (L), president, and Carlos Briceño (R), general manager, Banco Lafise Bancentro

15 Lutz-Christian Funke, senior vice president, KfW

16 Christian Klein, deputy CEO, Crédit Mutuel

17 Hakan Binbagil, CEO, Akbank

18 Kaspar Schmid, head international banking relations, Julius Baer